Sunday, October 6, 2013

Third Annual HBE Memorial Alumni Golf

October 5, 2013 - a celebration of The Third Annual Ted Brown/Jack Kennedy HBE Memorial/Alumni Tournament at Creve Coeur Golf Course

Saturday, October 5, 2013 – This is the third year in a row we gathered to remember those who could be with us, those unable to make it and those who are no longer with us. The weather forecast was promising scattered showers but it only deterred the 36 who showed up to play for 20 minutes or so before play resumed after the course cooled. Bill Wagner of SM Wilson earned low-net honors and will take care of the traveling trophy until next year.  (Scott Florini of New Ground finished just one stroke behind Wagner.) Larry Quarrels was the long drive champion. Tom Deyot and Ron Olech got closest to the pin on holes #9 and #2 respectively.

A touching moment was the serendipity of a cell phone call to Frank Cipolla (in town as owner representative for the Ballpark Village construction) from Mary Ann Kennedy (Jack Kennedy’s wife). Mary Ann happened to call to see if Frank was going to be home as Mary Ann and caregivers would likely be traveling to his part of Florida. Frank reported that in fact he was in St. Louis in honor of Jack and others at our annual event. (A sweet irony that her call came just as Frank was negotiating hole #1 at CCGC).

Creve Coeur Golf Course was our private club for the afternoon and most lingered afterward to share in the distribution of prizes, beverages and a few laughs. George Ryll traveled the greatest distance to join in the fun (from Sabastian, Florida).

Special Thanks to the committee members responsible for planning and communication (Mitch Miller, Frank Cipolla, Wes Morgan) and to Suki Majesky who helped get this tradition started.  We enjoyed the company of current HBE employees Fred Scott, Tony Augustine, Mitch Miller, Don Pickens. Mike Sims of Watlow Electric joined us a ambassador from the Thursday night league. (Watlow’s league is usually night in front of HBE).

Special thanks to Jerry Petry (with vintage AB product as judged by born on dates), Charlie and Coann Lee (with choice cigars), Lyle Forgy, Joe Voss, Ed Ragelean, Wayne Zimmerman, Byant Conant, Peter Conant, Geoge Robin, Paul Tchoukaleff, Bill Field, Alan Friedman, Jeff Boock, John Paulauskis, Scott Menkes, Rick Schaefer and all of those who were with us live or in spirit.

Mark your calendar for October 4, 2014 when we will do it again. (We’ll have to remind Bill Wagner to bring back the traveling trophy.)

No comments:

Post a Comment